Living Legends Ceremony Set for January

Living Legends Ceremony Set for January

Frederick W. Smith, founder and CEO of FedEx, will be honored next month at the 11th Annual Living Legends of Aviation awards ceremony at the Beverly Hilton in Beverly Hills, Calif. Smith is due to receive the Lifetime Aviation Entrepreneur Award, while Bruce Whitman, chairman and CEO of FlightSafety International, will receive the Lifetime Aviation Industry Award.

In addition, famed pilot Bob Hoover has selected retired U.S. Army Maj. Gen. Patrick Brady, a Congressional Medal of Honor recipient, to receive the Freedom of Flight Award. Bob also will pay tribute to his good friend and retired U.S. Air Force Col. Bud Day, posthumously, with his wife, Doris, and son, George Jr., receiving a special Bob Hoover medallion.

Hollywood star Morgan Freeman is narrating the Flown West segment of the Legends Program with a tribute to Legend Paul Poberezny, founder of EAA.

Kiddie Hawk Air Academy, the organization that produces the Living Legends of Aviation Awards, will induct six Legends into the Living Legends of Aviation, including T. Allan McArtor, chairman of Airbus Americas and actor-pilot Treat Williams.  The other inductees and the recipients of the Vertical Flight Hall of Fame Award and the Harrison Ford Aviation Legacy Award will be announced shortly.

The 11th Annual Awards, to be held Jan. 17, promises to be the best yet and limited seating is still available.

For more information, click here.

From a Living Legends of Aviation news release


Updated: December 12, 2013 — 12:44 PM
Air Age Media ©
WordPress Image Lightbox Plugin